Texting While Driving
Beginning July 1, Monday, texting while driving will become a so-called “primary offense” in Virginia, meaning that a police officer can pull a motorist for just doing that action, according to WJLA.
Currently, a law enforcement officer would have to stop a driver for a secondary offense, like having a headlight out or not using a blinker when making a turn, before there could be any warning or citation about the dangers or texting while driving.
When the new law takes effect, Virginia will be one of 39 states, plus D.C., where texting while driving is an offense.
A first citation of the law has a $$125 fine, with offenses after that each having a $250 fine, WJLA reported.
Attorney Gordon Johnson :: firstname.lastname@example.org :: Google+ :: Facebook :: 800-992-9447
Past Chair Traumatic Brain Injury Litigation Group, American Association of Justice