Driver Cellphone Fines Getting Stiffer in New Jersey
State legislators signed into law a bill that bumps up the fine to a minimum of $200 and a maximum of $400 for an initial violation of the law, AP reported. There will be a minimum fine of $400 and a maximum of $600 for a second offense, with a maximum $800 fine for a third or more offenses, according to AP.
Under the legislation, for a third or more offenses a judge can also suspend the person’s driver’s license for 90 days and give them three points.
According to AP, New Jersey is one of nine states, plus the District of Columbia, that ban drivers from using handheld cellphones. And the Garden State is one of the 35 states, along with D.C., that ban texting by driver cellphones.